Election Day

p1070083p1070089p1070092NYC is quiet. I remember it almost silent. The weather is grey except for some random sunny moments. I’m on the street trying to catch the atmosphere for menstyle’s website. In some voting places people are on line, others are empty. I love that the polling booths are showed by signs written in Chinese and Spanish. It’s a gentle manner towards foreigners. There is nothing worse than not understanding a language, especially when it comes to dealing with important issues. I hung out all day long. My friends don’t want to say that Obama can win. They still seem to be recovering from their last election memory where John Kerry was supposed to win the race but didn’t, even though he might have if Florida hadn’t manipulated the votes in its state. They keep saying Obama is black and the country is not ready to vote for a black man. I thought about that statement and it made sense. After all, forty years ago, Blacks were not allowed to vote, they had to sit in the back of a bus and leave the sits for white people. They were considered inferior human beings. Maybe my friends are right, it’s too early for America to have a black president. I don’t know what to think. I’m nervous but full of hope. As a matter of fact, I made the choice to reward the goodness in human beings, his ability to recognize the other, to accept him for who is he is and eventually to share experiences even though I acknowledge the fact that they always want to feel superior and omnipotent which lead them to be rude, stupid if not violent. But I have to say, lately, time has been tough : Bush, Sarkozy, Berlusconi, religions getting radical and gurus saddened me a lot. Therefore, Obama’s ideas – I will not mention them here, too long and complicated to sum up- made me think he is a great chance for me to keep on believing in the power of good and nice. When evening came, the streets got empty quickly. People went home to watch TV with friends or gathered in art gallery and bars. I went to a galleries downtown and then headed to Times Square. The place was not crowded but people massed under screens that would give the results state by state and cheered each time Obama was winning. They cheered quite often…. And I began to think he could win. Around 10 pm I joined my friends in Chelsea and by 11 pm Obama was declared President of United State of America. I had goose pumps, a kind of flash of lightning went through all my body. We were all ecstatic but the city didn’t really celebrate but for Harlem. 85 % of New Yorkers had voted for Obama. When I got back by 2 am, people I met on the street were also going home. The next day, the city was again quiet. Under the shock maybe. One thing was busy : The New York Times. By 8 am, there were no more copies of the newspaper in the city ! They had to print it again.
http://www.menstyle.fr/culture/vip/articles/081105-new-york-un-4-novembre.aspxp1070126p1070135p1070141

Leave a Reply

