Jane Fonda in NYC

fta

I’m a big fan of Jane Fonda. I always loved her as an actress and as a fashion figure. But that’s not enough to keep on admiring a person. Over all, she is an activist. She stands for ideas and values and nothing more than that touches me. From my prospective, that may be the most important human quality. As a matter of fact, you can rely on someone who is able to commit because what matters to this person is to be straight and loyal to her convictions and not to please whoever is around. Her ideas can not be corrupted by money or any kind of loss. She will stick to them. Yet, I’m not talking about ideologists, stubborn mind but about idealists. The frontier is tight but anyone can make the difference between Che Guevara and Jane Fonda ! So when I have received the IFC newletters that announced the presence of Miss Fonda after the screenning of FTA, (Fuck the Army/ Free the Army), the documentary she produced in 1971 and in which she plays, I run to buy tickets. So here I’m, with a friend of mine, on a Tuesday night, sitting on the bad seats of the IFC theaters watching a bunch of actors, who are performing a comedy for soldiers that are questioning the right they have to fight against Vietnam. The documentary is dated. I got bored sometimes but it’s a precious one because it witnesses the only real power we have which is to say NO and be able to question what we are doing. Jane Fonda showed right after the end of the film. It seems she left the rehearsal of “33 variations“, her upcoming broadway show. She walked down the room with Tulea, her dog in her arms. The dog has shiny and fluffy hairs, Jane Fonda has a bi-color haircut. Her bangs is blond and the bob haircut is brown as a marron glacé. My friend thought it was for the need of her show. I hope he is right. What strikes me the most is how unnatural she was. She would straighten up her bust every two minutes, make sure that her legs were properly crossed as her hands even though she was carrying her dog on her laps. She couldn’t stay still and had to act to be noticed. She gave me a sense of sadness.

Leave a Reply

